Eisha-Marjara01
Eisha Marjara

Writer, director

With a background in photography, Montreal-based filmmaker Eisha Marjara first drew attention with the witty and satirical The Incredible Shrinking Woman which showed off her skills as writer, cinematographer and director. But it was her feature NFB docudrama Desperately Seeking Helen (2000) that established her as a groundbreaking filmmaker. The film received the Critic’s Choice Award at the Locarno Film Festival and the Jury Prize at the München Dokumentarfilm Festival. It has been described as “one of the most auspicious film debuts on the Canadian scene.” Her German-Canadian The Tourist (2006) was nominated as best short at the Female Eye Film Festival and her transgender drama House For Sale (2012) received multiple awards at various international film festivals.

Marjara recently completed her first feature Venus a dramatic comedy produced by Joe Balass, about a transgender woman who discovers she is the father of a fourteen year old boy. Venus is slated for release in the fall of 2017.

Her affecting photo series and essay on the Air India tragedy of flight 182 entitled Remember me Nought was featured in the fall 2013 issue of Descant magazine. Marjara also authored her debut novel Faerie, about a teenager struggling with anorexia. Faerie received rave receives in Canadian and American press including a star review in US Publisher’s Weekly.

She is now developing the feature film Calorie with Compass Productions. It was selected for the 2014/15 Praxis Screenwriters Lab, mentored by screenwriter Guinevere Turner (American Psycho, The Notorious Bettie Page). Marjara also received development funding from the Harold Greenberg Fund and she has been selected for the 2017 TIFF Studio.

Filmmaker website: www.eishamarjara.com

[clearline]

[fancy_link link=’http://www.eishamarjara.com/Home.html’]eishamarjara.com[/fancy_link]

[fancy_link link=’https://twitter.com/eishamarjara’]twitter[/fancy_link]

[clearline]

Back to Top
Close Zoom

Eisha-Marjara01
Eisha Marjara

Scénariste, réalisatrice

Forte de son expérience en photographie, la cinéaste montréalaise Eisha Marjara s’est fait connaître avec The Incredible Shrinking Woman, un film satirique plein d’esprit qui lui a permis de faire ses preuves en tant que scénariste, directrice photo et réalisatrice. Mais c’est avec son docudrame Desperately Seeking Helen (2000), créé en collaboration avec l’ONF, qu’elle s’est forgé une réputation de cinéaste avant-gardiste. Décrit comme étant « l’un des premiers films les plus prometteurs de la scène canadienne », cette œuvre a reçu le Prix de la critique au Festival international du film de Locarno et le Prix du jury au Festival international du Film documentaire de Munich. Ensuite, son œuvre germano-canadienne The Tourist (2006) a été mise en nomination pour le prix du meilleur court métrage au Female Eye Film Festival de Toronto. Puis, le drame transgenre House for Sale (2012), a reçu plus de nombreux prix dans divers festivals du film internationaux.

Marjara a récemment terminé Vénus, une comédie dramatique produite par Joe Balass, au sujet d’une femme transgenre qui découvre qu’elle est le père d’un adolescent de 14 ans. Vénus prendra l’affiche à l’automne 2017.

Remember me Nought, son projet photographique et essai émouvant sur la tragédie du vol 182 d’Air India, a été présenté dans l’édition Automne 2013 du magazine Descant. Marjara a également signé son premier roman, intitulé Faerie, à propos d’une adolescente aux prises avec un problème d’anorexie. Faerie a reçu d’excellentes critiques dans la presse canadienne et américaine, dont une cote de quatre étoiles dans US Publisher’s Weekly.

Elle travaille maintenant au développement du long métrage Calorie avec les Productions Compass. Ce projet a été sélectionné par le 2014/15 Praxis Screenwriters Lab, sous le mentorat de la scénariste Guinevere Turner (American Psycho, The Notorious Bettie Page). Marjara a aussi reçu du financement du Fonds Harold Greenberg pour la scénarisation et elle a été choisie pour le TIFF Studio 2017.

Site Web de la cinéaste : www.eishamarjara.com

[clearline]

[fancy_link link=’http://www.eishamarjara.com/Home.html’]eishamarjara.com[/fancy_link]

[fancy_link link=’https://twitter.com/eishamarjara’]twitter[/fancy_link]

[clearline]

Retour en Haut
Close Zoom